Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

How Blockchain Can Build A More Resilient, Effective Future For Humanitarian Sector?

July 8 @ 7:30 am - 8:30 am PDT

The humanitarian sector has typically relied upon often outdated, proprietary technology solutions for managing and releasing aid, creating a risk of data loss, errors and duplication of efforts across organisations. Blockchain enables people or entities, who share a common goal, to work collaboratively without single dominance and necessity of trust among each other. In virtue of these characteristics of blockchain technology, it can generate significant improvements in efficiency, resource management, provenance, data security & transparency for the humanitarian sector.

The last year is overwhelmed by the Covid-19, and the coronavirus pandemic threatens slashed aid budgets. Therefore, distributed ledger technologies could be the solution to deliver significant savings for aid organisations and donors while offering potential to improve monitoring and evaluation processes. Moreover, through encrypted communication channels, it is especially useful in both protecting the personal data of individuals and also avoiding any duplication efforts when identifying resources, actions or people.

A number of blockchain projects have emerged in humanitarian and development aid sectors, but the current applications are far from being desired. The webinar is a call to drive investment and unlock innovation in the humanitarian and development aid sectors. With the increasing threats such as pandemics, climate change and natural disasters, we are here to advocate for a more distributed, efficient, and resilient future.

Panellists:
Lucia Gallardo, Founder & CEO, Emerge
Matthew Davie, Chief Strategy Officer, Kiva
Ric Shreves, Chief Strategy Officer, AID:Tech

Moderator:
Julian Gordon, VP Asia Pacific, Hyperledger

Date 8th July 2021, Thursday
Time:
7:30am (PST)
10:30am (EST)
3:30pm (London)
8pm (India IST)
10:30pm (HK, Singapore)
11:30pm ( Korea, Japan)

Details

Date:
July 8
Time:
7:30 am - 8:30 am PDT
Website:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/8616122558968/WN_SU5E-KAPRACyMSd5-OZQ-g

Venue

Virtual

Other

Event Type
Webinar